Android Tutorial Hangman Tutorial (part 1)

Hi, I'm Eric. I am still fairly new to Basic4Android, but have dabbled off and on in programming for the last 20 years. I started programming with GWBasic back when I was about 11. It took me quite a long time to learn things in those days (we didn't have the internet), but I eventually learned how to write some simple code that resembled games and such. Since my very first attempts at creating games, I have never lost the thrill of seeing my creations come to life on the screen.

Much later, during the big 3D games explosion (think Wolfenstein, Doom, Quake, etc...) I wasn't able to keep up with the advanced math that was used to make those sorts of games. Assuming this was the de facto future of all game programming, I made several attempts to try and learn the 3D type of programming. All of these failed. I can't do it even today (maybe with some of the cool 3d game engines it has become easier). That was it... my game programming dreams were crushed...

THEN- along came the explosion of mobile gaming. Not only did I enjoy playing some of these 2D style games again, but sure enough, almost 20 years later, I realized that this might be the right platform for me to pick my dreams of game programming back up!

So, I downloaded Eclipse, got some Java programming books, XML books, watched tutorials on Android and Java programming, and tried my best. BAM! it hit me... This is some hard stuff! I didn't get an education in programming, and as a married guy with a full time job and other more important responsibilities, I didn't have nearly the amount of time I would need to become great at programming in this new (to me) Java language.

My programming dreams were again CRUSHED!