Need help on SQL Initialize and filestorage

LA3QMA

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm new to b4a and need a kick in my .....

I have a MySQL database that i have converted to SQLite.

From the IDE i have included the file "db2011"

B4X:
Msgbox(File.ExternalWritable, "")
Msgbox( File.Exists(File.DirAssets,"db2011"),"")

I get TRUE on both and so far so good...

When trying:

B4X:
SQL1.Initialize(File.DirDefaultExternal, "db2011", False)

This is not working.

But if i copy the file from "Assets" to DirDefaultExternal:

B4X:
File.Copy(File.DirAssets,"db2011",File.DirDefaultExternal,"db2011")

then i can use the SQLite and search etc.

I understand that Assets is readonly? this is ok as i'm not going to change anything in the database and this is probably why it's not possible to open the database from the Assets?

So is the procedure to copy the file from the Assets to either External or Internal? If so then i have use twice the space for my database?

Anyone that can guide me into the right track?

Erel

B4X founder
Staff member
Licensed User
Longtime User
The assets folder is a virtual folder. It is actually a reference to a folder inside the APK file. As the APK file is compressed, only sequential reading is possible. Therefore it is not possible to open a database there.

I recommend you to check DBUtils: Basic4android Search: DBUtils
It has a method that checks if the DB exists and copy it otherwise. It has many other useful methods.

Upvote 0

margret

Licensed User
Longtime User
DataBase SQL

I'm new to b4a and need a kick in my .....

I understand that Assets is readonly? this is ok as i'm not going to change anything in the database and this is probably why it's not possible to open the database from the Assets?

So is the procedure to copy the file from the Assets to either External or Internal? If so then i have use twice the space for my database?

Anyone that can guide me into the right track?