Very basic webservice Consumption

jroriz

Licensed User
Longtime User
I' using B4A for 1 week, and everything is very new to me. I am very happy with this app.

I tried to find something in the forum, but I can not find an example of how to consume a basic webservice.

It seems that I have to pass a XML string first, I am very confused.

webservice: WebService Web Service
Method: HelloWorld
Parameter: d (string)

Webservice code (very simple):

<WebService(Namespace:="http://tempuri.org/")> _
<WebServiceBinding(ConformsTo:=WsiProfiles.BasicProfile1_1)> _
<Global.Microsoft.VisualBasic.CompilerServices.DesignerGenerated()> _
Public Class WebService
Inherits System.Web.Services.WebService

<WebMethod()> _
Public Function HelloWorld (d As String) As String
Return "Parameter value: " & d
end Function

end Class

That's all . Any help?

jroriz

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm new at B4a (very pleased so far), but only know to create and consume web services (SOAP) using ASP.NET.

What would be the best type of webservice to create using ASP.NET that would be easily consumed in B4a, and which method to use, or some such. I've seen all the examples that use the HTTP library and HTTPUtils, but without success.

Thanks in advance, and congratulations for the excellent product.

Upvote 0

jroriz

Licensed User
Longtime User
Solved - .NET web services

Answering my own question.

Just in case anyone comes here ...

Your web services written in. NET are ALMOST READY to be consumed in B4a.

The main difference is that in WS written in .NET GET method is disabled by default.

See the differences to consume a WS in .NET and B4a:

. NET
- Reference the WS;
- Instantiate and consume the WS, calling the method and passing the parameters;
- Receive returned values​​.

B4A
- There are no references;
- The WS method is called with the parameters in the URL. Eg: "http://www.somepage.com/wstst.asmx?param1=value1";