Has anybody managed to record a WAV file

mearleybrook

Licensed User
Longtime User
I think I have tried all possible permutations for sound recorder but can not get a wav format output. Anyone done it?

mearleybrook

Licensed User
Longtime User
That would be great . I think wav is then best supported uncompressed format to look closely at the signal frequencies. I'll look out for a lucky charm for you!

Upvote 0

stevel05

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
There's a question and info about recording wav files on stack overflow here

It may help you.

Upvote 0

mearleybrook

Licensed User
Longtime User
Thanks strevel05 - I am very new to all this and only decided to "have a go" with the advent of B4A. As I read what you tell me it is clear that Java can "get to" the relevant hooks in the operating system to do the job I want. I need B4A to get to them - I did look at trying Java but as a pensioner I fear too many brain cells have died

Upvote 0

stevel05

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
From what I read, if it is in fact accurate, wav's cannot be saved 'natively' and will need some additional conversion.

If you are just planning to work within Android you are probably better sticking to one of the native formats, and only converting when/if you need to export it somewhere else.

Upvote 0

vb1992

Licensed User
Longtime User
So in the AudioRecorder library example file,
it's not really recording a wav file?

B4X:
ToastMessageShow("Preparing the AudioRecorder.",False)
AR.AudioSource = AR.AS_MIC
AR.OutputFormat = AR.OF_THREE_GPP  
AR.AudioEncoder = AR.AE_AMR_NB
AR.setOutputFile(File.DirDefaultExternal,"myRecording.wav")
AR.prepare()

Upvote 0

stevel05

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
It looks like the three_gpp format is similar to MPeg4. See this wikipedia page.

And this Android developer page states that certain wav files can be decoded but not encoded (along with some more useful info).

Last edited:
Upvote 0

stevel05

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User