Basic4PPC vs Visual Studio

Status
Not open for further replies.

J12345T

Licensed User
Hello All,

I'm new to software development but have downloaded and experimented with the trial version of Basic4PPC. I like the interface and language however being completely new to this I have nothing to compare it to. Before I spend the money to purchase the full version is there anyone out there who could tell me if/why Basic4PPC is better than MS Visual Studio?

Many thanks,

JT.

RandomCoder

Licensed User
Longtime User
Before I spend the money to purchase the full version is there anyone out there who could tell me if/why Basic4PPC is better than MS Visual Studio?

You won't get support from Microsoft like you get from Erel :sign0188:
You can program directly on the device :)

Look at the articles in our forum, I'm sure you'll soon come to realise that we think B4PPC is great :cool: and the language is one of the most simple I've come across.
I personally like not having to define variables before they are used and the fact that variables are dynamic i.e. you can use them as a number or a string without having to change anything.

Regards,
RandomCoder

BjornF

Licensed User
Longtime User
I agree with RandomCoder, the support both from Erel and from everyone else on the forum certainly makes life easier when you run into problems (which you always will ;)).

One of the main things with Basic4ppc which I enjoy is that it doesn't make prgramming more complicated than it needs to be. In most cases you end up with one exe file (unless you use the dll's of course) and that is it. You just copy and paste it to your computer or ppc of choice and away you go. The fact that the language and dll's get upgraded at such a high rate is also very nice.

E.g. Visual basic certainly offers more overall alternatives but that also makes life more complicated. Try writing a small database program with Visual Basic and then do the same with Basic4ppc and you will see what I mean.