JSInterface

mystik

Licensed User
Longtime User
Here's what I am trying to accomplish... I have a webview control...when I rotate the device, the page goes blank. I need to be able to restore the state without refreshing the page. Can JSInterface do this?

mystik

Licensed User
Longtime User
I'm not an expert on JSInterface. However I do know that you can get the values of all the Html controls with it. Save these values in Activity_Pause by using a Map or several variables.
You can then load the page and set the values back in PageFinished event.

The values are actually not why I want to do this. Here's why...

The pages are from an online game, and many if not most of the URLs have parameters on them. For example, the last action the user might have done was make a purchase in the shop. If I then reload the last URL, it will make that same purchase again. (or any other activity, such as attacking another player) So, I just want to reload the content that was on the page (including any text results that were there).

Upvote 0

warwound

Expert
Licensed User
Longtime User
Hi.

I don't think there is a solution for this.

As you said - reloading a page on orientation change is ok for static webpages but will cause problems with an online game or shopping cart.

There does seem to be a solution when developing with the Android SDK, look at this example WebView app:

B4X:
package example.webviewstate;

import android.app.Activity;
import android.os.Bundle;
import android.webkit.WebView;

public class MyWebView extends Activity {
    /** Called when the activity is first created. */
   WebView myWebView;
    @Override
    public void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) {
        super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);
        setContentView(R.layout.main);

myWebView = (WebView) findViewById(R.id.webview);
        myWebView.getSettings().setJavaScriptEnabled(true);
        if(savedInstanceState!=null){
           myWebView.restoreState(savedInstanceState);