Basic4Android MagBook

nwhitfield

Licensed User
Longtime User
I've spent the last month working on a project all about Basic4Android, for Dennis Publishing in the UK. It's a magbook, which is essentially a single issue of a magazine dedicated to one topic - I've been doing this as a writer and editor for many years now.

A MagBook is 144 pages, standard magazine size, which means that it's got about the same amount of content as a modest book (about 66,000 words), but the format makes it much easier to do things like step by step examples.

This one will be called Build Your Own Android App, and will be on sale in the UK on the 29th of May; it should be available by mail order elsewhere, and I'll post details about that when I know more.

It starts from the basics, and explores different aspects of Android and B4A, up to coding an app and distributing it via the Play Store; I'm sure it'll turn out that there are plenty of other things I could have included, or perhaps done in a different order, but overall I'm pretty pleased with what I managed to put together in a month, which also included creating the simple 'Type Attack' app that I mentioned a couple of days back.

Between now and the on sale date, I'll be adding more information, including code samples, to a dedicated site that I've set up at http://nwcode.info - it's pretty basic there at the moment.

Thanks to Erel for his support with the project, and to the authors of all libraries and code snippets that help make B4A such a great tool to have used for a project like this.

IanMc

Licensed User
Longtime User
This is brilliant Nigel! Good luck with it and I'll certainly buy it when I see it.

It's this kind of thing that managers of IT departments will see and then go 'hmmmm.... we need us some B4a programmers'

nwhitfield

Licensed User
Longtime User
Hopefully, as they say, "in all good newsagents"